And so it begins! Welcome 2016!

Time stands still for no man. Or something like along those lines, right?

Here I am facing another year and trying to figure out my goals. It has to be the hardest part of running, well, minus the actual running. This previous year I thought it’d be best to lay off all the racing as I thought in 2014 I wasn’t able to really hit the workouts I wanted to because I was racing too much in a short period of time. I would come out of a race feeling great but disappointed because I could’ve trained harder leading up to my ultimate goal which was a Half Marathon in October. I did end up racing on a whim more than I thought I would. Ultimately, I still hit some pretty major accomplishments the later part of the year with a PR for 5K (21:48), 10K (46:16) and Half Marathon (1:51).

So again, here I am, thinking I’d like to take the same approach but maybe learn to listen to my body and of course my lovely wife because, let’s be honest, she’s the one that knows my aches and pains better than I do. She is the one that tells me to just enjoy it and stop beating myself up over only running 6 miles for a training run as opposed the 7.5 I had in my head that I wanted to hit.

Maybe this is the year that I keep it simple, lay out some high level goals and see where they take me.

Below is what I’d like to do this year (in no particular order):

  • Two half marathons – Not much of a stretch from the last two years but it’s more about actually planning for them. It’s easy for me to just go along for the ride and try to take a stab at the half’s I’d like to do but this is the year I think I hit two as opposed to the one I’ve done back to back years.
  • Holiday 5Ks – 4th July/Labor Day/Turkey Trot – These are always a lot of fun for my whole family. The kid fun runs are just as important to me this year as my daughter gets older. I’d like to get her to do a 5k with me for one of these and I think I have it picked out. It’s going to be less about time obviously because she’s only going to be 5 at the end of the summer. We’re not talking a speed demon here but she likes to run and likes to tell everyone how fast she is. Don’t get me wrong I have a little pride in watching run the kid fun runs and always do so well but I’d like to actually have her run a “big” 5K with me by the end of the year.
  • Just keep running – Three days a week/Two days a week/ 2 days over 2 weeks – it doesn’t matter. The most important thing is to just keep moving. Also as a 3a) to this, I just want to continue to add in weight training as I’ll post later from what I’ve read as it does have its benefits. I’m not trying to look like “Ah-nuld” just trying to feel good overall.
Leave a Reply

